An Update on Postings and Such

A heads up—although my ability to update this blog in a timely fashion hasn’t really been affected so far, I think there’s a good chance they’ll be a longer gap between posts in the near future. There are two reasons for this, one good (yay!) and one bad (boo!).

Good news first: I got a(nother) job! Unlike my other part-time positions, though, this one actually makes use of some of my fancy and expensive education. Basically, I’ve started doing contract work for Shmoop, which you may or may not know as the awesome website that has hilarious yet surprisingly in-depth study guides on classic and popular literature. I cannot explain how much of a coup this is. I used to visit Shmoop with starry-eyed wonder, less because I was really paying attention to their insights on books (I mean, I’m a little cocky about my skills in literary analysis), and more because I found them hysterical and thought, “I want to be like that when I grow up.” I still don’t feel especially grown-up, but I am in fact “like that,” because I’m writing curriculum and exercises for their English 12 course. I started off with Dickens’ “A Walk in a Workhouse” and will soon be moving on to Jane Eyre. It does, however, cut into my writing time (being funny all the time is surprisingly hard work, I’ve found). On the bright side, it gives me a legitimate excuse to keep up with pop culture.

Bad news: I don’t generally discuss my mental health issues much, because when they’re managed well, I tend to think of them as a very minor part of my life. Lately, though, they’ve been a very major part of my life, to the point where it requires a massive effort of will to focus on much else. Without delving too deeply into the matter, I’ll just say that I have a rather amorphous anxiety disorder that tends to flare up every few years in eternally new and unpleasant ways. I don’t know exactly what set this particular bout off (well, who am I kidding? It’s probably because I’m still largely unemployed, not to mention in debt), but over the past few months it’s manifested as everything from restless fretfulness about the shape of my future, to more or less existential despair, to really paralyzing hypochondria. I am semi-hopeful that I’ll be able to quell this particular relapse soon—there’s the good news on the job front, and I’m also looking into other ways of dealing with my anxiety besides taking meds and trusting that it will resolve itself—but since the past month has been particularly difficult, I figured I’d better give fair warning in case things get worse before they get better.

I really should lead with the bad news, shouldn’t I? Sorry to leave things on a down note, but I will be posting again soon, if not quite as soon as I normally would.

9 Comments

Filed under Non-Literary Adventures

9 responses to “An Update on Postings and Such

  1. Congratulations on your new job! It sounds like an amazing opportunity, and I’ll definitely have to check out Shmoop now 😉

  2. Jenny

    Best wishes for full recovery. Do take time to take care of yourself.

  3. I really sympathize with your struggles in battling anxiety. I know how that feels. I know it’s small potatoes, but know you’re never alone. Feel better.

    Also, been lurking around here for some time. I love your blog.

    And congrats on the job! It’s a stepping stone!

    • Thanks (for the compliment, congratulations, AND well wishes). As far as the anxiety goes, it’s–well, I don’t want to say gratifying, since I don’t really wish mental health problems on anyone–but a little comforting to hear from people who have dealt with similar issues, especially since it’s not the kind of thing people tend to air publicly. I feel like it’s becoming a cliche to say that there’s a stigma surrounding mental illness, but, well, it’s often true.

  4. My sister struggles with anxiety so I have an inkling on how hard it can be. All the best to you as you work toward feeling better. But also, congratulations on the job! That is totally awesome! 🙂

    • Thank you for both the well wishes and the congratulations! The job has been a lot of work so far, but it feels great to finally be earning a bit of money by working in my actual field.

  5. Pingback: My Gripe with Stephanie Meyer (Besides the Obvious) | Reading In The Growlery

Leave a Reply

